BEST READS FOR TEN PLUS KIDS

Lockwood & Co: The Whispering Skull by Jonathan Stroud

http://www.jonathanstroud.com/lockwoodandco.html

Ruby Redfort: Look into my Eyes by Lauren Child

Ruby Redfort is a genius code-cracker, a daring detective, and a gadget-laden special agent who just happens to be a 13-year-old girl. She and her slick side-kick butler, Hitch, foil crimes and get into loads of scrapes with evil villains, but they’re always ice-cool in a crisis.11999940

Sister, Sister by Jess Bright

My life has been turned upside down, inside out, and totally shaken about. In the last week I’ve learnt:
– my mum’s been keeping a MEGA secret from me MY WHOLE ENTIRE LIFE.
– my dad is a famous novelist.
– I have a sister I never knew about who’s really sick and I’m the last chance she has of getting better.
I’m trying to pretend to everyone (and even myself) that I’m OK with it all, but really, I don’t think I am.
Is Willow brave enough to save the sister she’s never known and open up her world to a whole new family? The stakes are high but Willow will discover that the rewards are even greater.
A fresh story of family and friendship told with humour and frankness.

516SqIFO0CL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Stop those Monsters by Steve Cole

The Wizard of Oz meets Monsters Inc in this MONSTROUSLY funny stand-alone story from bestselling author phenomenon, Steve Cole.
I’m Bob, a human boy stuck in a land of MONSTERS. I’m trying to get out with the help of three – count them, three – incredible creatures.
There’s Verity, who looks like a giant hamster. Alfie, who’s about as scary as a bag of crisps. And Zola, a gorgon who can’t turn people to stone (though she can manage cardboard at a push).

We’re on a crazy, death-defying quest to escape with our lives. And all around us, the cry goes up: STOP THOSE MONSTERS!!! – See more at:

http://books.simonandschuster.co.uk/Stop-Those-Monsters!/Steve-Cole/9780857078742#sthash.ehNR9gYQ.dp

About class03

Class teacher at Robin Hood School. Literacy Coordinator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

